none
TFS does not chek in all my files

Question

• Hello

Im using Visual Studio 2012 and Team Foundation Server 2012. Lately i changed to new computer and now I can't check in all the files to the TFS. This is a huge problem because the server is trying to change my local environment which can cause loss of files. Now i have everything checked out to avoid the server contacting my local environment. The other day i lost my default.cs file because the server changed my local environment. But luckily i had an older file wich i could use.

So what is happening is that i get message your environment is been changed from outside which i Ignore all to avoid loss of files. Im new to tfs.

Does Anyone have a suggestion to solve my problem, please try to deepen? Thank you in advance...

:)

Monday, July 15, 2013 1:18 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

Thanks for your post!

When you perform check-in and check-out, you need to create a workspace to map your local machine to the TFS. When the workspace is created, you can check out files from TFS, you can select which folders or files you want to check out from TFS, when you edit your file, you can perform a check in to TFS, if the file is not modified, then you will not check it in to TFS. If someone else modified the files and check into the TFS, when you check out the latest files from TFS, the files will cover the files in your local machine.

For more information, please refer to http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms181368(v=vs.110).aspx

Hope it helps!

Best Regards,

Cathy Kong
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Develop and promote your apps in Windows Store
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.

Tuesday, July 16, 2013 7:49 AM
  • I tryed this:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms181384.aspx