How to login with Administrator user to SQL Server 2008 database? RRS feed

• Question

• I am an administrator on a Windows Server 2008 box which is running SQL Server 2008. Someone else created a database that I am trying to access, but for some reason I cannot use my Windows Authenticated user to login to the SQL Server db. 

I get the following error:

Login failed for user 'DOMAIN\user'. (.Net SqlClient Data Provider)

Log:

Error: 18456, Severity: 14, State: 11.
    Login failed for user 'DOMAIN\user'. Reason: Token-based server access validation failed with an infrastructure error. Check for previous errors. [CLIENT: <local machine>]

Any ideas? Thanks.
    Wednesday, March 3, 2010 7:20 PM

Answers

• Hi josh6847,

From your description, you can't connect the SQL Server 2008 via Windows Authentication or SQL Authentication, you have no valid login to connect to SQL Server.

If I misunderstand, please let me know.

I have test this issue by deleting Windows Authentication login and sa login in my computer.

And I follow what the following link said, finally, I can connect to SQL Server.

http://blogs.msdn.com/raulga/archive/2007/07/12/disaster-recovery-what-to-do-when-the-sa-account-password-is-lost-in-sql-server-2005.aspx

Note: If you use a Operating System with User Account Control(UAC), you must run sqlcmd by “Run as administrator”.

Hope this helpful.

Regards,
    Tom Li - MSFT
    • Marked as answer by Tom Li - MSFT Thursday, March 11, 2010 3:28 AM
    Friday, March 5, 2010 2:31 AM

All replies

• Yes, user access control (UAC) can do this,

How about you right click on SSMS and select "Run As administrator"

OR contact your SQL DBA if he/she is around and have him add give you appropriate SQL server access.
    Wednesday, March 3, 2010 7:46 PM
  • I have tried selecting "Run As administrator" and had no luck.