none
Windows Azure Roles vs Compute Instances

Question

• Dear All,

I am a student and I got an MSDN Premium Subscribers Azure account as part of a program for students. So what I have for free is 750h/month of a Small compute instance. Currently my teammates and I are building one of our university projects using Azure so that we utilize the new technologies. I went thru a lot of posts here but I didn't get the following: is it possible to run a Web role and a Worker role(s) on the same compute instance. In our project we have build 1 Web and 2 Worker roles and I am curious if I can host them all in the free instance I have.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Vassil

Monday, November 29, 2010 9:10 PM

Answers

• Is it possible to run a Web role and a Worker role(s) on the same compute instance

No. Each role runs with one or more instances. Each instance gets its own VM. These VMs are not shared between instance. In your project you would need a minimum of three instances. Every hour your service is running you will be billed three instance hours (assuming you are using small instances) against the 750 hour allocation. The 750 hours is sufficient to keep a single instance running 24*7 for a month. Consequently, I suggest that you delete the deployments when you are done testing them to avoid exceeding your 750 hour allowance.

You may also want to look at combining your worker roles into a single worker role. If you are not creating two roles with different scalability characteristics there is probably not much point in splitting the functionality across two different roles.

• Marked as answer by Vassil_ Tuesday, November 30, 2010 12:03 AM
    Monday, November 29, 2010 9:52 PM
    Answerer
  • Hello Vassil,

You are missunderstanding the concept of Roles, Instances, Cloud Service. Let me try to explain these terms.