none
Unable to install sample (Toaster) or template drivers RRS feed

• Question

• First of all, please excuse the cross-post.  I've already asked this in the WDK samples github issues with no response - it's pretty mush a ghost town there.  I assume driver development isn't as popular as some other technology domains!

Also, since this post, I've tried additional things to get some action going, all to no avail - I've included my additional activity at the end of this post:

--- Unable to install drivers compiled on my machine ---

I hope I'm just missing something fairly obvious (I'm brand new to driver development) but I've read a LOT of the documentation and still can't find a solution.

Problem: I can build the driver examples and templates, but when I try to install the resulting driver it always fails.
    devcon simply reports "driver failed"
    Right-Install the .INF, or PNPUTIL both result in "A problem was encountered while adding the driver to the store".

I believe this is related to signing.
    I have checked that Test Signing is enabled, and the build output says it has successfully signed and created the security .cat file. (The cat file lists a certificate with my name on it, so I believe Visual Studio has generated a cert for me correctly)

I'm using:

• Windows 10.0.17763
    • Visual Studio Community 2019
    • WDK 1903
      (same issue whether I build for Win32 or x64)
    • I'm trying to test on my local machine, so no remote certificate exchange shenanigans

My understanding is that I should be able to run drivers for development with this Test cert, but something's not right.

The setupapi.dev.log includes the line:
    ! sig: Error 0x800b0109: A certificate chain processed, but terminated in a root certificate which is not trusted by the trust provider.

And ultimately fails...
    How do I tell Windows to let me try a freakin' sample?! (I don't really want to turn off driver signing checks).