none
DeviceIoControl API question RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Driver development. I came across following code,

DeviceIoControl(deviceHandle, IOCTL_HID_SET_FEATURE,  voidTypeData, numberofBytes, NULL, 0, &transferredBytes, overlapType)

What does above code mean, I am not getting what  is meant by control command IOCTL_HID_SET_FEATURE.

I can see there is some data in voidTypeData and the numberofBytes, transferredBytes as an output params.

From this I can decipher it is trying to send the data to device. But, How IOCTL_HID_SET_FEATURE comes into this picture.

Can anyone explain what is the functionality that being achieved here.

• Edited by Pratap.k Friday, November 25, 2011 6:31 AM
    Thursday, November 24, 2011 1:41 PM

Answers

• each driver determines what device io control codes you can send it. what type of device are you trying to communicate with?
    d -- This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    • Marked as answer by Pratap.k Monday, November 28, 2011 2:08 PM
    Saturday, November 26, 2011 5:53 AM
  • Drivers have no idea how to handle a particular IOCTL unless someone writes the code to do so.

There is the Windows Driver Kit (WDK) which contains all nesessary documentation and example code. You can get it from http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=11800

After you install the WDK, the documentation and examples will be available in the programs menu. Start reading the documentation.

-- pa

• Edited by Pavel A Sunday, November 27, 2011 11:26 AM
    • Proposed as answer by Vikrant Bansal Monday, November 28, 2011 1:03 PM
    • Marked as answer by Pratap.k Monday, November 28, 2011 2:04 PM
    Sunday, November 27, 2011 10:18 AM

All replies

• Please reffer MSDN for detailed information on DeviceIoControl.