none
How to get past 16 file limit of DragQueryFile for shell extensions in windows 7? RRS feed

• Question

• I posted this in the C# General area, but this is the right place for it.

I ran into the same issue as this guy:
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2363911/shell-extension-dragqueryfile-returns-at-most-16-in-windows-7

it mentions to look at this:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd758093%28VS.85%29.aspx

I did, and do not understand how to get the full list of files in the verb invoke:
    "In Windows 7 and later, the number of items passed to a verb is limited to 16 when a shortcut menu is queried. The verb is then re-created and re-initialized with the full selection when that verb is invoked."

I'm not an expert in shell extensions, but I can almost see what is going on from lots of examples.
    Eevery example seems to collect a list of selected items in the Initialize event.  This is exactly where only 16 files are gathered.
    I need to re-do that in the invoke method to get all files selected, right?

I cannot do this though because the initialize method has a parameter "data" as seen in the method definition:
    public void Initialize( IntPtr pidlFolder, IDataObject data, int hkeyProgID )
    that gets used in this line:
    data.GetData(ref FMT, ref STM);
    int count = DragQueryFile(STM.data, 0xffffffff, null, 0);

So I want to run that code again in the InvokeCommand method, but the IDataObject data is not available.
    I would imagine it would do no good to store the original data object as a private var for later usage, as it only has the 16 names.

The InvokeCommand method looks like this:
    public void InvokeCommand( ref CMINVOKECOMMANDINFO lpici )

When would i get the opportunity to get the full list of files?

James Maeding
    Tuesday, April 5, 2011 12:02 AM

All replies