locked
deleting the copy of data deletes the original file in Windows 2008 RRS feed

  • Question

  • We have a backup solution which create a copy of the data onto another disk.
    If we need to delete the backup we have a delete utility which takes backup and restore privileges and uses Win32 findFirstfile and delete file API to delete file.
    What we have discovered is when we delete the data on the other disk, the users desktop links (like all programs, administrative tools etc) disappear.
    The affected OS’s are Vista, Windows 7, and Server 2008.
    We are not able to fathom why deleting files on another disk/Volume affects the original windows install.
    Saturday, May 21, 2011 3:32 PM

Answers

  •  The directory was soft link. Instead of directly deleting directory we were first deleting files inside directory and then directory. As it is softlink when we traverse into it we were deleting target .

    So for deleting softlink directory delete directory not its contents

    • Marked as answer by HemantKulkarni Monday, February 11, 2013 9:10 PM
    Monday, February 11, 2013 9:10 PM