Skip to main content

none
Assigning certain portions of text to text boxes in VS 2019. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All.

My first post, and thank you in advance for your time and help.

I am a TOTAL NOOB and am not VS literate, so I do not understand all of the complex code needed to do what I would like, The code below is not mine it is hacked together from stuff on the net that I can make sense of..... Sort of.

I would like to be able to display certain portions of the serial monitor/ port text into specific text boxes in my vb.form.

The serial port is an Arduino uno with the software serial library loaded, below is what is coming from a Victron MPPT, (it's a solar charge controller) it spits out this text and the changes to the second row of data every second. 

Below is what is displayed on the serial port/ monitor:

PID	            0xA04B
    FW	            142
    SER#            HQ154037ESU
    V	             53420
    I	             20700
    VPV	             83560
    PPV	             1101
    CS	             3
    MPPT            2
    ERR	             0
    LOAD           ON
    H19	             455010
    H20	             1
    H21	             675
    H22	             807
    H23	             1427
    HSDS            311
    Checksum
     -:A5010000001000000FFFFFFFFB41439130000000000000000000000DF0200008B00F12937011C

The first row tells me what part of the system /device the reading is from, the second row is the value I would like displayed in certain text boxes.... There are two circle progress bars one of which must be able to display the VPV reading. Any Help will be welcomed.

Thank you.

Regards:

Charles

The code I have hacked together is as follows: