Project Spartan and the WebBrowser control RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a C# WinForms developer working in Visual Studio 2010 and I use the WebBrowser control in my desktop applications for users to view web content through the desktop app.

I have 2-questions related to the upcoming Project Spartan browser, which is supposed to replace IE as the browser.

1. Will the Spartan browser (or whatever its final name will be) continue to support the WebBrowser control in the toolbox? The control currently utilizes the functionality of the user's existing IE browser. If IE continues to be present on new Windows 10 desktop systems along with Spartan, then it probably won't be an issue.

One issue the Web Browser Control on Windows has, is that it’s perpetually stuck in IE 7 rendering mode by default. This is can be seen in articles like (see the section entitled Browser Emulation) or

Web Browser Control – Specifying the IE Version

or WebBrowser ActiveX Control – Google Maps Invalid Character Scripting Error

This requires a registry setting to set its emulation mode. Making the setting in the registry works. However, I would like to "Future-Proof" my application to account for any changes to the user's browser and Project Spartan certainly could prove to be a game changer if it won't support this development control.

2. Therefore, I would also like to know how Project Spartan will address browser emulation modes.

Thanks

Saturday, March 21, 2015 9:18 PM

Answers

• The webbrowser class in Windows Forms and WPF are based on Trident. It is unclear what designer you are in, as the toolbox contents are designer-dependent. If you are using the Windows Forms designer, then what you are seeing is the webbrowser class in Windows Forms. 

I did not imply Microsoft would introduce another control. In fact I said the opposite. Microsoft is unlikely to provide you a way for you to use the new engine, given their attitude on browser hosting. 

Visual C++ MVP