Skip to main content

none
Windows Form Application - FTP in Win Explorer.exe RRS feed

• Question

• hi, im new to coding, ive got my basic application made up, now im just trying to finalize some of the features i want. one of the things im struggling with is that i want to have a text box that i can type an ip address (for FTP) or a file location in (ex. "C:\users\public\documents") inside of a windows explorer .EXE window. So far, ive got it setup to connect to my FTP just by setting this command up on a button:

• System.Diagnostics.Process.Start("explorer.exe", @"ftp://192.168.0.xx");

however this doesnt fully achieve what im wanting, this just helps me with FTP for now, but my FTP address changes every so often so having to recode the software to change the ip everytime would kinda get annoying, so i just want to setup a textbox that is monitored by the button so that it will open the Explorer.exe up to whatever is typed in the Textbox, and if there is nothing, to prompt me with a messagebox that reads "Invalid Destination!"

so last example, i want to be able to type my ftp servers ip address into a textbox, click the button and have my FTP server opened up inside of Explorer.EXE, aswell as being able to type a physical File Location into the textbox, Such as C:\users\public\documents and have it open up Explorer.EXE to my Documents Folder. Any Help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Saturday, September 14, 2019 11:22 AM

All replies

• Hello,

Not what you are looking for but would recommend not doing this in code but instead using a free tool such as FileZilla as writing this in code is more complex that I believe you think it is. And if doing something in code something like this (also not what you asked for) this code would be a better choice.