none
Getting kernel API call stack RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to this driver development. Kindly guide.

I want the kernel API call stack to display on the MFC based GUI.

From the MFC application GUI, user will call any Win32 API, for example CreateFile().

I need to dump all the kernel call stack, related to this createFile() API.

means that which all APIs gets called internally, right from CreateFile of user mode, till the Kernel APIs calls.

Can I achieve this without making a driver? Is there anyway from user level I can get the entire API call stack?

Or writing a driver is the only solution. I cannot use any third party tool.

Kindly suggest.

Thanks in Advance.

Thanks & Regards, Mayank Agarwal

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 12:20 PM

Answers

• The kernel stops for no one, so you won't be able to see what it is doing in real time. However, you could use the Windows Performance Recorder (WPR) to capture a trace, and then display the data with the Windows Performance Analyzer (WPA). Both are part the of Windows Assessment and Deployment Kit (ADK), which is free.

-Brian

Azius Developer Training www.azius.com Windows device driver, internals, security, & forensics training and consulting. Blog at www.azius.com/blog

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 2:01 PM

All replies

• The kernel stops for no one, so you won't be able to see what it is doing in real time. However, you could use the Windows Performance Recorder (WPR) to capture a trace, and then display the data with the Windows Performance Analyzer (WPA). Both are part the of Windows Assessment and Deployment Kit (ADK), which is free.

-Brian

Azius Developer Training www.azius.com Windows device driver, internals, security, & forensics training and consulting. Blog at www.azius.com/blog

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 2:01 PM