Skip to main content

none
Python: Where's the Toolbox? RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using VB6 for many years and lately I've been trying out VB.NET (what a pain). Now someone told me that I absolutely "must" learn Python, because it is a "very important" programming language. 

So I installed the Python option in VS and I've discovered that the Toolbox is all grayed out. I've consulted the internet for a reason for this and I believe that I've discovered that Python won't work with drag and drop Toolbox features like VB.NET. Is this true, or am I doing something wrong? 

I also noticed, while trying to figure out what forum to post to, that Python is not listed under Visual Studio Languages in the "Forum Category" list.  Is Python not considered a Visual type language? 

Thank you

BiggyD

Tuesday, October 17, 2017 10:36 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Thank you for posting here.

As far as I know when you want to create python project using visual studio, first you need to install python tools for visual studio.

please see my screen shot.

Based on my search, Python is a widely used high-level programming language for general-purpose programming, created by Guido van Rossum and first released in 1991.

About python development issue, you can consult the issue on here.

Best Regards,

Hart

Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by Biggy D Tuesday, November 27, 2018 6:15 PM
    Wednesday, October 18, 2017 6:10 AM
  •  Now someone told me that I absolutely "must" learn Python, because it is a "very important" programming language. 

+1