Skip to main content

none
Adjusting Brightness and Contrast Interactively RRS feed

• Question

• Urgent help needed.
    I'm on a project with a very short deadline and need urgent help with the SDK's for controlling video media, specifically the brightness and contrast.

I have a Microsoft VX6000 camera installed and working. I have downloaded several test apps the use the capture multimedia API calls, ( ex - capDlgVideoSource(hWndC)  ). Initially I thought this was going to be the answer, but it does not appear that you can interactively adjust brightness and contrast while the video is running.

I'm a seasoned developer, but new to multimedia programming.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks Al Harper
    Monday, July 23, 2007 2:07 PM

All replies

• Are you using DirectShow?  Or vfw?  That looks like a vfw call.

For DS, if your device supports it, there is IVideoProcAmp.  If you are playing thru VMR9, there is IVMRMixerControl9 and you might also look at IAMVideoProcAmp.

Monday, July 23, 2007 6:46 PM
  • Well, I know next to nothing about VFW, so I can neither confirm or deny.

As for contrast/brightness, it seems some devices support it and some don't.  And some support the standard DS interfaces to control it (like the ones I mentioned), and some have their own custom property pages (accessed via OleCreatePropertyFrame).

Monday, July 23, 2007 7:34 PM
  • Well al, if you have written the app that is doing the capturing you can do it dynamically by allowing the dialog to be loaded.

If you are using an app that cant be altered for capturing. or to just do it quickly you can always create a NEW filter graph, Load the Capture device into the graph WITHOUT RENDERING PINS.
    Query interface for iprocamp and either use the ispecificpropertypages or create your own control dialog using the interface pointer.