none
Access denied when calling IAudioClient::Initialize

Question

• I'm having trouble getting sound out of a system upgraded to Vista from XP and I believe it's related to the new Vista audio engine.  I tried completely removing my Audigy2 ZS and switched over to my on-board AC'97, but still no sound. However, a fresh install of Vista to another partition works perfectly. Vista level II support and I have tried everything: uninstalling drivers, re-installing drivers, even installing codecs.  I think they're going to give up on me soon.

Being a software developer, I decided to take matters into my own hands.  I downloaded the Windows SDK for Vista and stepped through the WinAudio sample to see what I get back from the API.  It turns out when I call the IAudioClient::Initialize method it always returns E_ACCESSDENIED (0x80070005).

Any ideas on what could cause this return value?  I'm thinking it's some kind of underlying registry or file system permissions problem. Is there any way to verify that the audio engine is installed correctly or re-install it?  Or is there a way to tell the Vista upgrade installer to re-install the engine?

I want to keep this upgrade installation going and not start over fresh for sentimental reasons.  That's because this installtion is 13 years old!  That's right, I've been upgrading hardware and Windows versions in this installation since Windows 3.1!  Help me guys, I don't want Vista to be the one that breaks the streak!

Saturday, March 24, 2007 7:48 AM

Answers