none
UDT -ATL -Struct implementation RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I want to add a function to my class in ATL project..while doing so the function has a parameter of struct..this struct needs to be implement in idl.....I am stuck..in VC++ can anyone help as I am a beginner in ATL ...

1)Hav added the following in the .idl file
    [ uuid("FD27CE79-9C08-4afa-AEB0-BB5B3E2F6DEA")]
    struct xGetPinOutNaw {
    char sDate_Time[MESSAGE_DATE_TIME_LENGTH+1];
    char sRefTransaction_Number[MESSAGE_TXN_SERIAL_LENGTH+1];
    char spincode[MESSAGE_PIN_CODE_LENGTH+1];
    char sSerial_PinNo[MESSAGE_PIN_SERIAL_LENGTH+1];
    char sExpiry_date[MESSAGE_PIN_EXPIRY_LENGTH+1];
    char sPromotion_msg[MESSAGE_FILLER_LENGTH+1];
    };
    2)hav made a separate idl file with the above info and hav include that in the main .cpp file and the headers aswell...

Not getting a proper approach to go ahead

error: 
    error MIDL2035 : constant expression expected 

Thanks
    Monday, July 15, 2013 10:11 AM

Answers

• You seem to want to pass strings around. The usual way to do so in COM is via a BSTR, not an array of char. You might want to reconsider your design.

How are MESSAGE_DATE_TIME_LENGTH and others defined? Apparently, they are not compile-time constants, which is what MIDL complains about.

For more details on UDT (structs) in COM, see http://vcfaq.mvps.org/com/4.htm , http://vcfaq.mvps.org/com/5.htm .

Igor Tandetnik

Monday, July 15, 2013 12:52 PM
  • If you want to use structs in a COM interface, then you usually do it the other way round. You define the struct in the IDL file. When MIDL compiler processes this file, one of its outputs is an .h file that, among other things, would contain the definition of the same struct in C. Your COM object implementation would just include that header.

Igor Tandetnik

• Marked as answer by SPBC Wednesday, October 2, 2013 8:29 AM
    Wednesday, July 31, 2013 1:00 PM
  • Thank Igor  for the kind reply..

Will redesign using BSTR...

Igor,