none
When will Dominican Republic be supported?

Question

• I'm a Dominican developer who wishes to be part of the Windows 8 developer community. I planned developing for Windows Phone 7 (in fact, I have finished a couple projects but can't submit them to the Marketplace), but you guys never supported our country. The only support is through Yalla Apps, which I really don't like, especially because they just publish the app under their account with the description saying "Developed by ****".

I hope the same doesn't happen on Windows 8, as literally almost everyone I know is a Windows 7 user, and most computers sold are Windows-based, so there'll be a huge opportunity when Windows 8 arrives. My plan is to target big companies so they have an app in Windows Store, and I believe the users will love the experience.

Now, if other Latin American countries are supported out of the box (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia and Mexico), and we get support for buying apps, what's the problem in supporting devs? Is it that the credit card must be from USA? We can get one easily with some international banks. Is it we need a USA bank account? Same, some international banks offer accounts. I'd be happy even if I could pay and receive payment through Paypal or through cheque.

Sorry for the rant, but I'm a little frustrated that I can't be a Windows developer of any kind even if I wanted, when other ecosystems support my country. I really hope by RTM Dominican Republic is supported, and hopefully, on Windows Phone 8, too.

• Edited by firebrewd Monday, June 18, 2012 10:24 PM
    Monday, June 18, 2012 10:21 PM

All replies

• Hello Firebrewd,

Please take a look at the following site for countries that currently support the Windows Store as well as countries where we are accepting developer registration. Please check the site periodically as it is subject to change. I hope this helps.

thanks,

Jesse

• Proposed as answer by Jesse_F Wednesday, June 20, 2012 1:16 PM