The following forum(s) have migrated to Microsoft Q&A (Preview): Developing Universal Windows apps!
Visit Microsoft Q&A (Preview) to post new questions.

Learn More

[UWP]What Are the Multi-platform Guidlines to Multiplayer on Universal Windows Apps? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to developing for Microsoft, migrating from Sony platforms, I couldn't find anything about this, maybe because I'm not a costumer support agent coming to searching forums...

Anyways,

What are the guidelines to developing on Universal Windows Apps, referred to as UWA in this context. I read the basics, maybe I read an older version, but I did not find anything mentioning multiplayer situations. I know with a development license for game consoles, multiplayer must be targeted to a certain platform and must be its own multiplayer for the brand...
    But when it comes to UWA, its one package, from the same store. I know there are ways to identify the target machine it is running on, but in "real-life" that would add USELESS code to the other platforms as each platforms session would be different...
    Unless otherwise its just a server issue... but some of the cases, there is more in-game code than just switching servers...

But is this necessary to do for UWAs? Or can an Windows 10 Mobile device not play a game with someone on Windows 10 Machine, or even with someone on an Xbox One.

I would figure Microsoft would strongly recommend not allowing Windows 10 PC to play online with Xbox One users, but I'm more concerned about the other devices...
    Friday, November 6, 2015 7:11 AM

All replies

• Hi Katy Pillman,

Welcome to the Developing Universal Windows apps forum!

As a friendly reminder please make sure to add the appropriate tags to the title of your post as per Guide to posting: subject line tags

>>Or can an Windows 10 Mobile device not play a game with someone on Windows 10 Machine, or even with someone on an Xbox One.