none
[UWP][VB][XAML]Learning to Create a Custom MarkupExtension RRS feed

• Question

• I am writing a UWP app, and am looking to learn to create custom MarkupExtension(s). I have never written a custom MarkupExtension (although I have, of course, used many standard existing ones). In this specific scenario, I am looking to make a MarkupExtension that will make it easier to enter Integer values (so that they are already Integers, and the codebehind does not need to worry about converting them). Everything I have found I have had trouble getting to work (probably because I'm new to custom MarkupExtension(s), I'm sure it can't be too hard once I get the basics), but I have not yet done that. Please keep in mind that I am using UWP (not WPF), although I am using the latest version, but I believe there are some differences. Thanks.

Nathan Sokalski njsokalski@hotmail.com http://www.nathansokalski.com/

Wednesday, August 14, 2019 3:53 AM

All replies

• Hi,

If you need to create custom MarkupExtension, please make sure that you are targeting at least build 16299 and as the same for min version. Then you could create a class inherited from MarkupExtension. Next you need to override the MarkupExtension.ProvideValue to provide the implementation and marked with the MarkupExtensionReturnTypeAttribute and specifies the return type. Like this:

[Bindable]
        [MarkupExtensionReturnType(ReturnType =typeof(string))]
        public class PageDataContextBindingExtension : MarkupExtension
        {
            public string PropertyName { get; set; }

protected override object ProvideValue()
            {
                return "This is test";
            }
        }

finally you can then use it in XAML just like this:

<Textblock Text="{eb:PageDataContextBinding PropertyName=111}"/>

Best regards,

Roy

MSDN Community Support