The following forum(s) are migrating to a new home on Microsoft Q&A (Preview): Developing Universal Windows apps!

Ask new questions on Microsoft Q&A (Preview).
Interact with existing posts until December 13, 2019, after which content will be closed to all new and existing posts.

Learn More

none
First time development with Windows Template Studio (UWP) RRS feed

• Question

• Windows Template Studio (UWP) gives an easy start for developing a app with modern UI.

It created two projects in my solution (example: MyApp) named, MyApp and MyApp.core. In the MyApp.core there's a readme.txt which recommends putting all the business logic in the core project for the entire solution. I'm new to the kind of project structure being used here and could not find clear directions on using it anywhere, although I do find info on individual components in general.

For instance, there are the following directories in core project folder: Helpers, Models and Services.

In the main project folder, these directories were created: Activation, Assets, BackgroundTasks, Helpers, Models, Services, Strings, Styles, TemplateSelectors and Views. 

Now I have created a class which is basically a UDP listener. I want to instantiate it to listen to packets on different ports, parse it and call a callback function associated with that object of the class to process the parsed data, which can be as simple as displaying the messages in an XAML control. 

My questions are:

1. Where should I put this class?

Whether inside the core project or the main project? In which folder?

2. How can I reference it?

I tried placing the class file in different locations, but I'm unable to reference the class. Do I need to add a separate reference for each class file I create?

I have gone through Microsoft's documentation multiple times, but I'm not getting this part at all. So any helpful background, links are welcomed as well.

Monday, November 11, 2019 11:20 PM

Answers

• Hi,