Why does using 'WrapToWholeWords' crash my app? RRS feed

• Question

• I spent ages debugging an app that was constantly crashing shortly after launch. The app only crashed on Windows 8.0 (worked fine on Windows 8.1 Preview, which I had, unfortunately, done my developing and testing). The app is targeted at Windows 8.0, NOT 8.1.

After a lengthy trial-and-error session I figured out that the cause of the crash was the 'WrapWholeWords' setting in a textblock in my XAML. There was no indication of a problem with the XAML (no wiggly lines), and the value was set from the properties panel, not added manually.

Changing to 'Wrap' fixed the problem completely on Windows 8.0.

My question is why would something like this crash the app? Is it simply the wrapping causing the text to not fit in the textblock (it's within a datatemplate where the 'size' of the text can vary)? Is there something wrong with using this setting? Or is it simply a XAML bug in Windows 8.0/VS2012?

I'm a self-taught noob amateur. Please take this into account when responding to my posts or when taking advice from me.

Friday, August 23, 2013 1:43 AM

Answers

All replies

• WrapWholeWords was added to the TextWrapping enum in the 8.1, so the value does not exist when targeting 8.0.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/apps/windows.ui.xaml.textwrapping.aspx

What was the exception you were seeing when the app crashed?  Was it not helpful at all?

• Marked as answer by pumpkinszwan Monday, September 2, 2013 8:19 AM
    Friday, August 23, 2013 2:37 AM
  • Thanks for the answer, Matt. It makes sense that it would crash 8.0 if it was only added in 8.1.

And I know it's my own fault for developing in 8.1 with VS2013 and testing on 8.1 devices when targeting 8.0...but if VS2013 and Windows 8.1 weren't such big improvements over their predecessors it wouldn't be an issue :)