none
Perform Click on button in a grid RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all.

I am new to UWP/XAML but I've been using .NET for quite a while now. I have an issue as follows.

I have an app which shows a Customer page. I've added a VariableSizedWrapGrid and called a sub to fill it with buttons as follows:

<VariableSizedWrapGrid x:Name="FirstChars" Orientation="Horizontal"/>
                // Create first button '#' with character and Click event and add to grid
                ToggleButton btn = new ToggleButton { Content = '#', Margin = new Windows.UI.Xaml.Thickness(2, 0, 0, 0), Width = 34 };
                btn.Click += FirstChars_Click;
                FirstChars.Children.Add(btn);
                // Create all alphabets buttons and Click event and add to grid
                char[] az = Enumerable.Range('A', 'Z' - 'A' + 1).Select(i => (Char)i).ToArray();
                foreach (var c in az)
                {
                    btn = new ToggleButton { Content = c, Margin = new Windows.UI.Xaml.Thickness(2, 0, 0, 0), Width = 34 };
                    btn.Click += FirstChars_Click;
                    FirstChars.Children.Add(btn);
                }

When the user enters this page, no buttons is selected and I want to perform a click event on the first button "A" so that I can then perform the appropriate Select query on my DB.

How do I select the button and call the appropriate event when the page has been loaded?

I'm guessing I need to define a ToggleButton variable and select the button from the grid which has the content "A". But I can't fathom how to do this after many tries :(

Thank you for your help!

Saturday, July 13, 2019 5:09 AM

All replies

• Hi Jedimaster,
    If you can provide a more detailed description of the requirements, I think we can help you better.
    I have observed that all of your ToggleButtons are bound to the same event 'FirstChars_Click', but you also want to have special handling for different buttons (like pressing button A).