none
binding datagridview to xml file RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi there. i'm a newbie to xml and windows forms.

trying to load an xml file into a datagridview.  i dropped a datagridview control on to my form and didn't set any properties.  trying to do it all programmatically.  i need to load an xml file - which i found out has some crlf embedded in it.  after stripping them out, i'm trying to bind the xml to the datagrid.  i don't get any errors but the data doesn't appear on the control.  what else do i need to do?  also after displaying the data in the grid view, i need to ultimately save this data into 2 locations:  first in a CSV format for excel, and then in a sql database.  is there anything that i should do in this code to make my life easier later?  thanks.

Dim w3datainputfile As New XmlDocument

If Not (OpenFileDialog1.ShowDialog() = DialogResult.OK) Then

'MsgBox("problems with the Open File Dialog. Contact your administrator.")

Exit Sub

End If

Dim tempstring As String

'2007.07.30 Enable MultiFile Selects

Dim sr As New System.IO.StreamReader(OpenFileDialog1.FileName)

tempstring = sr.ReadToEnd.ToString

tempstring = Replace(tempstring, Chr(10), "")

w3datainputfile.LoadXml(tempstring)

DataGridView1.DataSource = w3datainputfile

Friday, August 3, 2007 2:21 AM

Answers

•  

Dear dotolee,

Check this.

HTH,

Suprotim Agarwal

Friday, August 3, 2007 3:10 AM
  • Hi, dotolee,

The reason for your problem is that you put the "<NAME>" and "<ADDRESS>"

nested in the "<LISTINGS>" segment which makes your "<NAME>" and "<ADDRESS>" new DataTables for you DataSet.

You can try to paste the schema into a xsd file, and you can find out that the relationship between the three tables from the visual window.

As you can see, in the "LISTINGS" table, there are only "PHONE" and "LISTION_ID" field. And the Name and Address are in the other tables.

Here is the solution,