[UWP][SDK]IpOverUsbSvc service missing in windows 10 RC (Build 10240) RRS feed

• Question

• After updating to the most recent build of Windows 10 I wanted to deploy my windows phone app to a phone - since this was not working and after some research I found out that the "Windows Phone IP over USB transport service" (IpOverUsbSvc) needs to be started.

Problem is: There is no such a service, when I check the services on my PC. (I checked for "Windows Phone IP over USB" and also for "IpOverUsbSvc")

This was no problem in the last Windows 10 Build and was working perfectrly unter Windows 8.1 but at the moment I cannot deploy apps to my phones for testing...which is quite bad since I am a WP developer. ;(

Any ideas, how I can manually install this service?
    Reinstalling Visual Studio 2015, Installing Windows 8.1 SDK and even Windows Phone 8.0 SDK did not solve the problem.
    Removing the USB device driver from Device manager and re-connecting the phone after this did not solve the problem - no such service was shown in the services.

thanks for your help,
    Hannes

Thursday, July 16, 2015 1:55 PM

Answers

• Hi Hannes,

Can you try a few things for me.

1. Were you on Windows 10 OS Preview 10166 and did you also have SDK 10166 installed at the same time (before you were updated to Windows 10 OS Preview 10240)?
    2. Can you open a powershell prompt and type "Get-Service -Name *USB*" and tell me what that reports back?
    3. I've got a registry file on my OneDrive, can you apply that, reboot, and then tell me if the IP Over USB Service is re-enable?

This will help me confirm what I think is going on and I think it will unblock you. If this works, for you, then I will get this posted as an issue so others can benefit.

https://onedrive.live.com/prev?cid=88092d932b312c1e&id=88092D932B312C1E%21186636&authkey=%21ACy%5F%2Drwnx9gY5Pg&v=TextFileEditor

Larry Olson

Friday, July 17, 2015 12:50 AM

All replies

• I am have the same issue too.