none
Setup Project produces both a MSI file and a setup.exe file. RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to this stuff and this is the first setup project that I've tried.  I created a VB.NET 2005 application and a setup project for it.  I noticed that the setup project generates both a app_name.msi file and a setup.exe file.

Does anyone know what the difference between these two are?  Which one is the file I give to someone else so they can install my application on their computer?
    Monday, August 21, 2006 6:22 PM

Answers

• While trying to find an answer to my other question I came across this excerpt which explains the difference between the msi and the exe.  Hope this helps!

File Name

Description

HelloWorld_Setup.msi

The Windows Installer package for the HelloWorld project. We can change its name to something more conventional by modifying the Output file name property in the setup project's Property Pages dialog.

Setup.exe

The setup bootstrapper file, which reads Setup.ini to determine the required installation tasks. This is the file that is run to start the installation. Setup.exe will check for the required .NET runtime and prompt users to download it if it is not found on the target PC.

Setup.ini

The initialization file used by Setup.exe to perform the required operations. In a simple setup project like this, Visual Studio .NET creates a reference to the MSI file containing the application's Windows Installer package along with a reference to the required .NET Framework runtime. In more complex installations, it may contain other application-specific information.