MVVM: How to pass data between ViewModels RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a relative newbie to WPM MVVM, and I'm rewriting a Winform app to WPF. The original design is a window containing only a single tab control. Each tab in-turn hosts various controls and functions as a separate "form" (input data, click button, view results).  The business functions of each tab are only loosely related to the other tabs.

Unfortunately, the code for ALL the tabs is presently "glommed together" (like spaghetti) in a single C# source file. But after analysing it, I found there's not really very much code that's actually actually shared between the various tabs.  

So I decided to segregate each "form" into separate Views (UserControls) each with an associated ViewModel. The new design will be a main View containing only the tab control (and its associated main iewModel)  plus a View (a UserControl) and associated ViewModel for each tab. 

But I'm stuck on what would seem to be a simple thing: I need to pass a startup argument "down" the hierarchy from the "main" ViewModel to the "lower-level" ViewModel(s)

How do I do this in an MVVM-friendly way?  And more generally, how does one share "data" (and perhaps methods?) between ViewModels?

(examples would be most welcome, since I'm sort of a noob).

DadCat

Wednesday, August 29, 2012 10:36 PM

Answers

• I decided to do it the traditional way: 1) define a thread-safe singleton 2) in Application_Startup, instantiate the singleton and all the ViewModels (at least the VM's that need to share info with each other), then save references to all the VM's in the Singleton. This way, any VM can access any other VM. 

Works great, although it may not appeal to MVVM purists.

DadCat

• Marked as answer by DadCat Wednesday, September 5, 2012 6:56 PM
    Wednesday, September 5, 2012 6:56 PM

All replies

• It depends a lot on your MVVM design.