none
What makes C# better than VB

General discussion

• hey friends,

I am a Visual basic developer. I hear that every C# programmer says C# is better - stronger than VB .  But when I ask the reason I can never  have a strong answer :) .  Is there some body can tell me the benefits of using C#  rather than VB. What makes is stronger than VB ?  I want to learn C# but I want to be convinced before I start ..

Thanks a lot

Ayhan

Monday, November 27, 2006 1:49 PM

All replies

• Hello All.

Ayhan:

Well now, it looks like we have a philosophical discussion on our hands.   So, here's my philosophy, FWIW.

I really don't think that there is a dime's worth of difference as far as "strength" goes, whatever that is supposed to mean.  Whatever you can do in C#, you can do in VB.  Now, for the sake of discussion, let's assume from the outset that we are talking about the .NET 2.0 versions of both languages.  Assuming that they make the same BCL calls, they both compile to the same MSIL.  One of the fundamental features about .NET is that the CLR doesn't care a whit about which language the source code is written in.

I think the debate all boils down to coding and development style preferences.  When I started programming for Windows, I coded against the Win32 API, which is by far easiest to do (but still not easy  ) with a C-based language.  So, naturally, I gravitated to C# from C++.  Which, by the way, MS made very easy to do.

In comparison, I think that on the one hand, you have folks who are of the opinion that since VB is a "Basic" language, that it is not as "professional" or "real" as C#.  To which my answer is, "Well, if you write code that sells, it is as "professional" or "real" as it needs to be."  Add to that the fact that the MSIL is identical to C# code, then from the execution standpoint, there is no difference at all.