none
How to Block Pop Up with WebBrowser Control RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys, I'm trying to create a simple application using the WebBrowser control.

When I visit a certain website using the webbrowser control, I noticed a pop up window opening. Is there anyway to block this pop up using the WebBrowser control?

If so, can someone show me how. Also I'm new to C# .net, so it would be nice if someone can explain it to me in step by step process.

Thanks!
    Monday, November 24, 2008 3:46 PM

Answers

•  

Hello,

If here pop up means WebBrowser open a webpage in a new Internet Explorer, then please follow these steps to avoid such condition:

1.       Click WebBrowser in Windows Form design time, and open property window of WebBrowser.

2.       Add NewWindow event handler at Event tab of property window.

3.       Use these codes in the event handler, like:

private void webBrowser1_NewWindow(object sender, CancelEventArgs e)

{

webBrowser1.Navigate(webBrowser1.StatusText);

e.Cancel = true;

}

Here, StatusText actually holds the URL of the target webpage original opened in Internet Explorer.   Besides, e.Cancel = ture is to cancel the original action to open webpage in Internet Explorer.

Otherwise, if you have any other concern, please be free to let me know.   

Best Regards,
    Lingzhi

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help. http://forums.msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/csharpide/thread/8e9ed0d7-11ff-402a-8489-9b5f05eeb706 http://forums.msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/vssetup/thread/60424309-bd78-4ca2-b618-03c4a16123b6
    Friday, November 28, 2008 2:11 PM

All replies

•  

Hello,

If here pop up means WebBrowser open a webpage in a new Internet Explorer, then please follow these steps to avoid such condition:

1.       Click WebBrowser in Windows Form design time, and open property window of WebBrowser.

2.       Add NewWindow event handler at Event tab of property window.