none
Reading data from Excel into VB 2008 RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi there, I'm a new VB programmer, although I have a decent background in java.  Anyways, I'm learning VB and I'm trying to read data from an Excel file using VB 2008 and can't figure out how to accomplish this.  I can't seem to get any data from the Excel spreadsheet to display in a simple Windows form.  Also, there's a decent amount of data in the spreadsheet so I was wondering if it makes sense to just read data as needed from the excel spreadsheet or if there was some type of data structure that I could import the entire Excel spreadsheet into and do my analysis from there.  I was reading about the DataGridView, but that seems more for display purposes.  Just looking for some direction.  Thanks.
    Monday, March 10, 2008 9:03 PM

Answers

• You can either use pure VB.Net code or you can do a Project > AddReference > Com > Microsoft Excel to add the Excel DLL to your project (the Excel object model). I don't have any examples of how to use that.

I have a pure .net example (some of it is C# though)  - you can read through my various scattered notes to get some idea of how to get started.

A pain in the butt problem with reading Excel data into a datatable is that if a column has numbers for the first few entries/rows, and then text in the remaining rows, excel thinks it's a numeric column, and hence won't import any of the text (or rather, imports it as null). The reason for this is that Excel is typeless so ADO.Net uses the first 8 rows of a column to "guess" the datatype of the whole column. The only solution I have found so far is to set the IMEX property in the connection string (where IMEX apparently means Import-Export):

string strConnectionToSheet = @"Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" + pathToSpreadSheet + "; Extended Properties='Excel 8.0; IMEX=1; HDR=YES'";