none
Start Installation of msi-package with command RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hello and greetings from Germany,

I'm new to MSBuild and therfore I may ask a stupid question. I developed a MSi-Package with WIX. What is important for me now is, that I need a Bootstrapper for for ensuring that all necassary components are installed. Sofar this is no problem for me. But after completing this prerequisits I must install the msi with parameters passed to msiexec. I need this Parameters for further processing in the installer. Is there a way to do so with MSBuild, and if yes, how must I configure the Project-File?

Thanks for your help.

Greetinge Markus

Saturday, February 24, 2007 6:32 PM

Answers

• Sorry for keeping quiet so long, but I had to travel a lot...

Thanks for your testing. in the meantime I had the chance to talk to one of the developers of msbuild. This is his answer:

I followed up with Mike Wade, developer extraordinaire for the VS 2005 Bootstrapper and he had the following insight: 

Unfortunately, what you want to accomplish is not possible (due to an oversight on our part). Because the MSI is launched via a call to MsiInstallProduct rather than msiexec.exe directly, the command line arguments you make have to take the form PROPERTYNAME="Property Value". There are 2 work-arounds I can think of for this problem:

1) If you know you are installing on Vista, you can add properties to the property table to help guide logging. See MsiLogging Property and MsiLogFileLocation on MSDN.

2) You could write your own stub executable that would first call out to the bootstrapper's setup.exe followed by a call to msiexec.exe.

Sorry I don't have a better answer for you, but I hope that little bit helps