none
Audio Player App. <--> ASIO driver <--> UDP Packets

Question

•  

I am currently working with Audio over IP and wanted to develop an interface that would take uncompressed audio data (PCM) from a UDP packet and send it to the ASIO driver which would be able to talk to any audio player application which supports ASIO.

I'm not exactly sure where to start, but I was told that Media Foundation Development would do what I wanted.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Wednesday, January 23, 2008 7:40 PM

Answers

• I'm pretty new to Media Foundation myself, but I don't think it's the right tool here.  I think MF could help you decode a stream from a URL, but it sounds like your UDP packets contain a proprietary protocol that wouldn't be directly decoded by any MS API's.

Next, if you're using ASIO (is that a requirement?) Media Foundation probably isn't the right tool here either.  ASIO is a 3rd party (Steinberg?) audio streaming API that talks more directly to the sound card (via the sound card's mfr's own ASIO drivers) than the old DirectX / DirectShow / Windows API's.  I've never heard of it being used as an audio source from anything other than audio hardware.  But, it seems like what you would need is to write an ASIO driver that makes your UDP stream appear like a sound card input to an ASIO host application.

The only applications that really support ASIO tend to be pro / semi-pro mixing systems (Cubase of course, Ableton Live, Pro tools).  These aren't really audio player applications, in my view.  Windows Media Player, for instance, would not play through ASIO.

If, however, what you're trying to do is play a UDP stream over a sound card with low / fixed latency, then perhaps you can cut ASIO out of the equation and just use Media Foundation or perhaps the Core Audio API's directly.

Friday, January 25, 2008 12:00 AM

All replies