none
Generic.xaml not able to be seen by the WPF designer in a Winforms application RRS feed

• Question

• :) first post on this forum. I'm used to Stackoverflow. Sorry if i break any of the etiquette  of this forum. So to start off I have seen this problem in VS2010, 2012, and 2013 RC. The project I am working on is using .NET3.5. I am fairly new to the WPF world, but have fallen in love with it. I'm finally to the point where it takes me less time to make a nice looking Window in WPF then it would take me building a "quick" Winforms Form. Because of that when I have taken it upon my self to replace the winforms forms in a project to a WPF Window. This is a bit of a sore spot with me currently. It almost makes me want to create a new WPF project then move all the code over to this new project. In this case though that is not a viable option. So on to the problem at hand. What I did is in my winforms project is I created a new folder called WPF and put added a WPF UserControl in it. I then switched the UserControl to a Window. (I'm not thrilled that I have to do that, wish I could just add the Window) After replicating the Form I'm replacing I decide to use a static resource for my buttons. So after hours of searching I finally figured out how to make my Winforms application even see my Themes/Generic.xaml file. Problem that I am experiancing is that my designer still can't see it. Which means in order for me to see what my change to any of the resources does to my application I either have to run my program and look at all the windows, or I have to have a test WPF project open (or blend) and see what it would like from there. So how can I make my designer see the resource file too?

Changes I've added to my Winforms project is this (thus far)

AssemblyInfo.cs

[assembly: ThemeInfo(
        ResourceDictionaryLocation.None, //where theme specific resource dictionaries are located
        //(used if a resource is not found in the page,