LightSwitch 2013 HTML Client - Custom AddEdit save button cannot close dialog screen before navigating to another screen .... RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

firstly, I love the benefits of LS HTML Client, and,  I am just learning light switch HTML Client.

I am trying to have two buttons on my page, one that will save this AddEdit data and then navigate back to the menu (that one is easy and done). The second button will save this AddEdit data, BUT, I need it to CLOSE the current AddDetail screen and navigate to a detail browse screen that displays the detail and will allow the user to add detail data from there. Closing the AddEdit from my custom save button BEFORE I NAVIGATE TO MY FULL BROWSE SCREEN is my problem.

After trying some things, I am wondering if I am coming to some correct conclusions?

It seems like the AddEdit screen can only be closed by the LS methods NavigateHome & back or commitChanges, cancelChanges.  These automatically do their job, close the screen and return to the previous screen.  Even WITHOUT the afterClosed being defined, the  AddEdit screens automatically generate the LS standard “Save” and “Discard” buttons. Even WITHOUT the afterClosed process being defined, the LS standard “Save” and “Discard” buttons will also automatically close the modal dialog. 

A custom save button can automatically close a modal dialog AddEdit screen IF it calls “navigateHome”, “navigateBack”, “commitChanges” or “cancelChanges”. But these functions will automatically navigate to the previous screen (except “navigateHome” ).

Without using these 4 functions, custom save buttons can navigate to other screens, but the screens a custom button navigates to will just appear within the AddEdit modal dialog AREA (so navigating to full screen will only show it partially displayed within that AREA), and  THERE IS NO CLOSE() functions you use with a custom save button to close the AddEdit modal dialog  screen BEFORE navigating to another screen.