none
VB 2005 has no Image control? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm just a casual hobbyist, but I'd appreciate any suggestions or advice.

Until very recently I've been using VB6 to make a chess program as a hobby. I found the Image control very useful for layering many images over each other, such as pieces and the chessboard. I've just started using VB 2005 and found no Image control. So I'm lost - is there any way I can add the same control or similar to the design-time toolbox? If not what other ways are there to use .ico files?

PS The simplest ideas are best. Like I said I'm just a hobbyist.

Thank you!

Tuesday, March 27, 2007 3:51 AM

Answers

• Use a picturebox control it is in the default toolbox, it should have similar behaviours as the vb6 image control. You can use vb 2005 to open your vb6 project and it will convert it to vb.net for you.
    Tuesday, March 27, 2007 5:37 AM

All replies

• Use a picturebox control it is in the default toolbox, it should have similar behaviours as the vb6 image control. You can use vb 2005 to open your vb6 project and it will convert it to vb.net for you.
    Tuesday, March 27, 2007 5:37 AM
  • Thank you for responding!

Yes, I've used picturebox control before but it seems that in vb2005 it won't accept .ico (icon) files which were easily used with transparent backgrounds to layer images and have other images come through, for example in vb6 i could have image controls containing chess pieces as .ico files and the image (with a transparent background) allowed the picturebox behind it of a chessboard to come through.