none
Break Point Taking Affect in Chrome and Not in Visual Studio RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to learning Blazor WebAssembly with accompanying TypeScript and JavaScript files.  I have a test app up and running, but am experiencing what appears to be inconsistent debugger behavior.  In the current situation, I have set break points in an async JS function.  When I debug the app (using Chrome), it appears that Chrome's debugger is taking over, thereby preventing me from using VS to examine my code.  I know that I have done this recently and the break occurred in VS as I would have expected/hoped.  So I'm not sure what has changed the behavior.  I'm including a screenshot of the break within Chrome.  

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Steve

Saturday, June 6, 2020 1:46 PM

Answers

• Thanks, Dylan.  I had "Enable JavaScript debugging..." checked already.  

<o:p>As with my other posted question, I may have stumbled onto the problem in this case.  While rereading this (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/core/blazor/debug?view=aspnetcore-3.1), I noticed that my launchSettings.json file contained '"nativeDebugging": true,' in the IIS Express profile.  Now that I've removed it, debugging break points now seem to be back in Visual Studio.  Soemthing must have prompted me to add that setting at some point, but I am at a loss to recall when or why.</o:p>

<o:p>Hopefully this one is solved too.</o:p>

<o:p>Steve</o:p>

• Marked as answer by Cincy Steve Tuesday, June 9, 2020 8:03 PM
    Tuesday, June 9, 2020 8:03 PM

All replies

• Hi Cincy Steve,

You can try to enable "disable cache(while DevTools is open)" in debugger options.

Best Regards,

Dylan