none
Create DLL with F# RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to F# and coding in general.  I am having trouble understanding how to create a DLL with F#.  I've read all the posts, help, support, and tutorials, but nothing is specific to F#, just C++/#.  

It seems F# requires two files, one with the functions and one to somehow make it available to other programs (in this case, Excel).  I cannot determine what file types to use (.fs, .fi) and what headers are needed.  

Can someone help with a set of instructions on how to create this solution in VSTO?  I only need to know the file types and verbiage to create the DLL.  Hopefully, this is a small request...  :)

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee241127.aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms682507(v=VS.85).aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms682592(v=VS.85).aspx

Monday, November 26, 2012 2:09 AM

All replies

• At the very simplest you just need a .fs file with your code in it, and build it like

fsc --target:library myfile.fs

An F# library project in Visual Studio will do essentially this (just with a bunch more flags that get in the way as this example from MSBuild output of an F# library project shows

C:\Program Files\Microsoft F#\v4.0\fsc.exe -o:E:\hg\tinesware-tools\Infrastructure\_Intermediate\Tinesware.Infrastruc
    ture\Debug+AnyCPU\Tinesware.Infrastructure.dll -g --debug:full --noframework --define:TRACE --define:DEBUG --define:C
    ODE_ANALYSIS --doc:E:\hg\tinesware-tools\Infrastructure\_Binaries\Tinesware.Infrastructure\Debug+AnyCPU\Tinesware.Inf
    rastructure.XML --optimize- --tailcalls- -r:C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\mscorlib.dll -r:"C:\Program
     Files\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\v3.5\System.Core.dll" -r:C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.5072
    7\System.dll --target:library --warn:4 --warnaserror --warnaserror:76 --fullpaths --flaterrors --keyfile:E:\hg\tinesw