none
Extension to generate TypeScript from ViewModel RRS feed

• Question

• Hi There,

I am a new bee on Visual Studio extensions, I have a requirement to convert the C# ViewModel to typescript file. I have no idea from where to start on this as I have never built any package or extension before. Elaborating my requirement, On VS2013 in solution explorer when I right click a viewmodel it should give me an option to convert file to typescript. For any settings I can use a separate settings file at solution level.

Please help me get start on this, I have no clue even what type of extension I should create for this and how can I read my viewmodel to convert it into typescript.

Any help on this will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Sachin Mehndiratta

Tuesday, December 2, 2014 9:54 AM

Answers

• Hi Sachin,

I am glad you are up for the challenge, it will be well worth it.  As far as books, I have not found many that go into any depth about package development.   I have found a course (once again a little dated, targets vs 2010) pluralsight that is pretty helpful.  Unfortunately the audience for custom vs package extensions development is pretty small so I don't think a lot of authors are going to create books.  From what I can gather, that series of blog post called Learn VSX Now was going to be turned into a book but the author could not find a publisher willing to take it on :(   Another helpful resource I forget to mention before is Carlos Quintero.  He is an MVP and makes a product called MZTools.  There is a lot of info on his blog about extending Visual Studio and he is pretty active in these groups so if you post questions here he might answer them.

Frank

Thursday, December 4, 2014 1:13 PM

All replies

• Hi Sachin,