none
Full duplex pc to half duplex serial communication with SerialPort class in C++ (but any language will do)

Question

• Hello.  I am a bit new to the .NET environment, and though I feel I was able to get a good handle on most of the basics of .NET, I believe I've encountered a problem beyond the basics.  I am trying to talk with a device called a ColorPAL that uses asynchronous serial communication, but it is half-duplex instead of full-duplex.  I am able to send it the hex string commands that it wants just fine with the TX line.  However, I find myself unable to read because the RX isn't connected to anything.  Basically what I want to do is that I want to be able to swap the TX line to become a RX line so that I can then read line of the half-duplex.  I read that there is a PinChanged event, so it lead me to believe there is a way to change pins??   If the RX line is very high impedance I could connect it to the TX line, but I have no idea about that.

How can I get a full duplex to read a half-duplex using the visual studio software?

Here is the code I'm using, in case that helps.

#include "stdafx.h"
    #include <Windows.h>

using namespace System;
    using namespace System::IO::Ports;

int main(array<System::String ^> ^args)
    {
    	String^ portName; //the com port
    	String^ ans;
    	String^ strRead;
    	array<unsigned char>^serialBytes={0x87,0x00,0x02,0x00};
    	unsigned short on = 1;
    	int baudRate=7200;
    	short loop=1;
    	for each (String^ s in SerialPort::GetPortNames())
        {
          Console::WriteLine("  {0}", s);
        }
      Console::WriteLine("Type in the port name of the maestro and hit ENTER"); //prompt the user
    	portName=Console::ReadLine();
    	SerialPort^ pal;
    	pal = gcnew SerialPort(portName, baudRate); //initialize the serial port class as maestro and open port
    	pal->ReadTimeout = 500;

pal->Open(); //open the serial port
    	Sleep(2000);

while(loop==1)
    	{