none
Visual Studio 2015 Remote Debugger (MSVSMON.EXE) not running RRS feed

• Question

• I have recently started getting this error on my Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit machine:

Error while trying to run project: Unable to start program <path>.The Visual Studio 2015 Remote Debugger (MSVSMON.EXE) does not appear to be running on the remote computer. This may be because a firewall is preventing communication to the remote computer. Please see Help for assistance on configuring remote debugging.

I am not using remote debugging, everything is on a single Windows 7 machine.

The error occurs as soon as I try to run the program in debug mode, immediately when the output window shows Build Successful. It occurs on a large Winforms/Entity Framework/SQL Server solution that I have been developing for several years and have migrated to VS2015; and also on a much smaller Winforms application which I have not changed recently and is still on VS2013.

I have tried the following:

There are no error messages in Event Viewer at the time of the failure.

I can find no log messages in appdata\local\temp,  appdata\local\microsoft or appdata\roaming\microsoft at the time of the failure.

Clean solution, including manually emptying the bin\debug folder makes no difference.

Fiddling with the build configuration makes no difference. I usually use Any CPU.

I tried following the advice at https://msdn.microsoft.com/query/dev14.query?appId=Dev14IDEF1&l=EN-US&k=k%28vs.debug.error.remote_debug%29;k%28TargetFrameworkMoniker-.NETFramework and

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/y7f5zaaa.aspx with no progress. MSVSMON.EXE was started manually from C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\IDE\Remote Debugger\x64 and reported “Waiting for new connections”, but that made no difference to VS. There were no messages in the firewall log, or elsewhere.