none
Testing a web site without html code using Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi.  I am a 3rd party tester.  I am new to MS Visual Studio and testing websites.  I do not have access to the website's code.  I am looking for a tool that can help me manage my test plans, suites, procedures, and partially automate some of my test steps.  Is MS Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 a good tool for managing test plans, suites and procedures?  Using MS Visual Studio Enterprise 2017, can I create an item which opens a browser and a website, then use this item as a project dependency/reference?  I appreciate any help I can get.  Thanks.
    Tuesday, September 24, 2019 8:07 PM

Answers

• Hi Web_Tester,

Welcome to MSDN forum.

> > Is MS Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 a good tool for managing test plans, suites and procedures? 

## Microsoft Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 provides us with web performance test feature, it is usually used for testing web site by analyzing requests, using web-plugins and editing some parameters. You could create a web performance test project and record for operations of the website, the project will record the requests for you to monitor the process. All test plans, parameters, requests, properties are saved in this project and easy for managing.

## Since this feature (Web Performance Test) will not be continue supported and updated by Microsoft in future versions of Visual Studio (you could still use in Visual Studio Enterprise 2017), if you need more support in future, you might need to consider other alternative web test application.

> > Using MS Visual Studio Enterprise 2017, can I create an item which opens a browser and a website, then use this item as a project dependency/reference?