Web API Error: The 'ObjectContent`1' type failed to serialize the response body for content type..... RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I am new to web Api, and  I am getting this error:

<Error>

<Message>An error has occurred.</Message>

<ExceptionMessage>The 'ObjectContent`1' type failed to serialize the response body for content type 'application/xml; charset=utf-8'.</ExceptionMessage>

<ExceptionType>System.InvalidOperationException</ExceptionType>

<StackTrace/>

<InnerException>

<Message>An error has occurred.</Message>

<ExceptionMessage>Type 'System.Data.Entity.DynamicProxies.Employee_0D7A537351492F8D419F58EA70B1240500CF0FFF354951D83FA225EA973C5338' with data contract name

'Employee_0D7A537351492F8D419F58EA70B1240500CF0FFF354951D83FA225EA973C5338:http://schemas.datacontract.org/2004/07/System.Data.Entity.DynamicProxies' is not

expected. Consider using a DataContractResolver or add any types not known statically to the list of known types - for example, by using the KnownTypeAttribute

attribute or by adding them to the list of known types passed to DataContractSerializer.</ExceptionMessage>

<ExceptionType>System.Runtime.Serialization.SerializationException</ExceptionType>

And  My LINQ query in action method is:

public Employee GetEmployees()

{

Employee employees =(from e in db.Employees

select e).First();

return employees;

}

NOTE: when I debugged this LINQ its working fine.i.e. its returning proper values from DataBase.

Please Help. Thnx in advance. 

• Changed type Tamal K Dey Tuesday, October 9, 2012 5:51 AM
    Monday, October 1, 2012 6:48 AM

Answers

• Hi Sameer and Kap.dave,

After long struggle I got the solution of my problem....
    just added this two lines in my WebApiConfig.cs file...

var json = config.Formatters.JsonFormatter;
        json.SerializerSettings.PreserveReferencesHandling =                Newtonsoft.Json.PreserveReferencesHandling.Objects;
     config.Formatters.Remove(config.Formatters.XmlFormatter);