none
Invoice form in ms access vba (using dao) RRS feed

• Question

• I have to add an invoice how can I do it.
    Design of the ms access form(single form) is

---------Upper Area--------[this should be inserted into invoice master
    Date (suggest me)
    ShipMode (option button)
    Buyer (combo)
    Supplier (combo)
    Indentor (combo)

---------lower Area--------[this should be inserted into invoice detail

Product   UnitPrice  UOM       Quantity
    (combo)     (textbox)    (combo)   (textbox)  (btnaddrow) (btndeleterow)

(btnAddInvoice) (btnCancel)

Please suggest me how to do it.Any code or sample like this.
    I don't know how to add new row of product e.t.c.
    Please help me as I have never done any programming in ms access before
    (Done most of web development,asp.net with c# ,jsp,and little bit of coldfusion)
    Thursday, January 19, 2006 5:42 PM

Answers

•  

Wow..... OK

I don't know if you are serious about DAO or not and it's ok. Older DAO is a LOT easier to deal with than what we have today. With DAO you're a whole lot more likely to suceed.

Here is what you want to do. I'd recommend making a small access database that you can't hurt... or make a private copy of any real access database and put it where you can work on it.

Make a simple test project:

Goto to Project | References

Select COM

Look for Microsoft DAO V3.6 library and add it as a reference. It may help to be sure you have the MDAC 2.8 library on your system and if you are running XP SP2 you do. :)

Find some VB6 code on the net.

You need to begin by Opening the File and creating a workspace.

This can beasier said than done......

I've adapted a little bit of vb6 code and I think this is what you do in VS2005.

InSpec = PathSpecification & "AccessDatabaseName.mdb"
            Dim ws as object = DBEngine.Workspaces(0)             ' Create the database workspace