2. {

3. int m_sum = 12;
    4. int m_count = 2;
    5. float m_average;

6. m_average = m_sum / m_count;
    7.Console.WriteLine("result is:" +m_average);
    8.Console.ReadLine();

}

In  line 7, if i write Console.WriteLine("result is:" +m_average); i can see the output as "RESULT IS : 6"

but if i write Console.WriteLine("result is:" , m_average) i can see "RESULT IS : " numeric value is not there. can anyone please explain why? what is the significance of the '+'? it may be a very basic question but i am pretty new to this language. please help me out here.

Thanks in advance.

Friday, March 09, 2018 12:12 AM

Answers

• Hello buddy, the + is a concatenation. So if you have multiple strings "Hello " + "World" = "Hello World".

As for you example you concatenated the "result is:" + m_average(Which has a value of 6) so it became "result is: 6".

btw, you can read more about Console.WriteLine() in this link

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.console.writeline(v=vs.110).aspx

You can also use the , as concatenation like this

using System;

public class Example
    {
       public static void Main()
       {
          Console.WriteLine("Hello {0}", "World");
       }
    }
    // The example displays output like the following:
    // Hello World

Friday, March 09, 2018 12:20 AM

All replies

• Hello buddy, the + is a concatenation. So if you have multiple strings "Hello " + "World" = "Hello World".

As for you example you concatenated the "result is:" + m_average(Which has a value of 6) so it became "result is: 6".

btw, you can read more about Console.WriteLine() in this link

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.console.writeline(v=vs.110).aspx

You can also use the , as concatenation like this

using System;

public class Example
    {
       public static void Main()
       {
          Console.WriteLine("Hello {0}", "World");
       }
    }
    // The example displays output like the following:
    // Hello World