none
Strange Error; IOSTREAM has suddenly "lost" the >> operator (doesn't run with 'std::cin >>' for user input)

Question

• Hello,

I am a noobi beginner, but have a serious question. I apologize if this is a boring fix. I use Visual Studio, and when I type the following text below and run the program, the following error comes up:

"There were build errors. Would you like to continue and run the last successful build?"

I type NO and the Output tab shows:

1>------ Build started: Project: PROJECT, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
    1>SourceG.cpp
    1>c:\users\MYCOMPUTER\source\repos\PROJECT\PROJECT\sourceg.cpp(8): error C2679: binary '>>': no operator found which takes a right-hand operand of type 'std::string' (or there is no acceptable conversion)
    1>c:\program files (x86)\microsoft visual studio\2017\community\vc\tools\msvc\14.16.27023\include\istream(333): note: could be 'std::basic_istream<char,std::char_traits<char>> &std::basic_istream<char,std::char_traits<char>>::operator >>(std::basic_streambuf<char,std::char_traits<char>> *)'
    1>c:\program files (x86)\microsoft visual studio\2017\community\vc\tools\msvc\14.16.27023\include\istream(328): note: or       'std::basic_istream<char,std::char_traits<char>> &std::basic_istream<char,std::char_traits<char>>::operator >>(void *&)'
    1>c:\program files (x86)\microsoft visual studio\2017\community\vc\tools\msvc\14.16.27023\include\istream(323): note: or       'std::basic_istream<char,std::char_traits<char>> &std::basic_istream<char,std::char_traits<char>>::operator >>(long double &)'

This goes on through the entire IOSTREAM file (which I knkow is usually typed in lower-case : ) ) 

When I dissected the iostream file, the operand >> does NOT show up. What do I do?

Thanks a bunch!

#include <iostream>
    using namespace std;
    int main()
    {
    std::cout << "what is your name?" << '\n';
    string name{};

std::cin >> name;
    std::cout << "what is thy quest, " << name;