What if I include <WinNT.h> directly? RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using C# since I started programming. And sometimes I need to work with some legacy C++ source code, but I always get frustrated by the numerous compiler/linker errors (and IMO some of error messages are really misleading) when trying to compile the simple projects of my own. (I did google quite a lot before I decided to ask a question here.)

First off, I don't understand header files. My understanding about header files is,  when compiling,  what compiler does is reading the content of the header files and "pasting" the content to the cpp files which include the header files. If the compiler can not find the declaration of a data type or a function, or if the linker can not find the definition(implementation) of that declaration, errors are reported as "undefined identifier" or "can not resolve symbol"...

See the following code sample, since no data type or function declared in WinNT.h is referenced in the sample code, why would compiler emits so many errors (mostly C2146, C4430) when I trying to compile it? -I include WinNT.h because I want to use the data type TCHAR.

And if I add #include <Windows.h> before #include <WinNT.h>, the compiler stop complaining. What magic happened then?

#include <WinNT.h> //compiler errors!

int main()

{

return 0;

}

The compiler options are

cl.exe /O2 /Oi /GL /D "WIN32" /D "NDEBUG" /D "_CONSOLE" /D "_UNICODE" /D "UNICODE" /FD /EHsc /MD /Gy /Fo"Release\\" /Fd"Release\vc90.pdb" /W3 /nologo /c /Zi /TP /nologo /errorReport:prompt  MyCpp.cpp

• Edited by kennyzx Thursday, December 9, 2010 2:08 AM syntax error
    Wednesday, December 8, 2010 5:49 AM

Answers

• Well, the root header is Windows.h, so that is the one which you should include. If you actually look at MSDN documentation about things in winnt.h you will see that they all tell you to include windows.h. See GetFiberData as an example. Notice the header section says include windows.h.