Save File Dialog Box RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Visual Basic with no programming in my background. I've created a application without to many problems until now. I've looked around msdn but could not find any tutorial on how to create a "standard" save file dialog box. What I have found is some instruction with a lot of assumptions made such as I've done this before.
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 12:50 PM

Answers

• @ bendernut - so what's the verdict?  did you get something put together that works?  If so, close this thread by marking one or more posts as answers.  If not, follow up with more posts!

Doug
    • Marked as answer by bendernut Friday, June 19, 2009 2:41 AM
    Friday, June 19, 2009 1:01 AM
  • Thanks guys. Works great for my application. Short, sweet, and to the point.
    • Marked as answer by bendernut Friday, June 19, 2009 3:04 AM
    Friday, June 19, 2009 3:04 AM

All replies

• Being new to using VB.Net (and programming), you might not be aware that VB.Net already has a SaveFileDialog.  No need to reinvent the wheel.  Look for it in the ToolBox in the Dialogs section on the left side of the screen.

Look through the links in this forum search for code and explanations on how to use it:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Search/en-US/?Refinement=112&query=SaveFileDialog&rq=meta:Search.MSForums.ForumID(0f60fa48-1ceb-41ee-a10a-0dfcee7e19bd)&rn=Visual+Basic+General+Forum

Doug
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 1:13 PM
  • Here a short sample:

Create a new Windows Form Application Project.
    Drag a RichTextBox1 control onto the form and a Button1.
    Make the RichTextBox1 box larger and place the Button underneath - looks better that way! :-)
    Double click the Button1 in the DESIGNER VIEW to switch to CODE VIEW and add a BUTTON1_CLICK event automatically.
    Insert the following code in the BUTTON1_CLICK event:

'Create an instance of the SaveFileDialog:
            Dim SaveFile As New SaveFileDialog