none
Why do MenuItems with children not allow Commands or IsChecked options? RRS feed

• Question

• I like WPF a lot, especially after being introduced to the eventless MV VM format. I'm not a UI Designer by any means, but I am working on some UserControls for a couple interfaces, and I have only one major complaint so far: a MenuItem with children does not have a working "IsChecked" or "Command" binding.

I understand that wanting this functionality is a little unusual, so here's some context. The user control is for generating a list of options, some of which have subcategories. I can turn the parent option on/off, and then have several options beneath that. My current workaround is to have an extra Child MenuItem that governs the parent option, as demonstrated below.

<MenuItem Header="Parent Option">
        <MenuItem Header="Parent On" IsCheckable="True" IsChecked="{Binding hasParentOption}"/>
        <MenuItem Header="Child Option" IsCheckable="True" IsChecked="{Binding hasChildOption}"/>
    </MenuItem>
    I would much, much rather be able to just set the Parent Option MenuItem to "IsCheckable = true," but my brief research suggests the way a menu item is coded means it can either be checkable, or have children, and not both. The same is true for running a command (I tried to hack it by adding a check mark as the icon and flipping it's visibility) but the command bound to the menu item will not fire if it has a child element. 

This is, apparently, intended behavior. Why? Is there a fundamental principle of UI/Menu design that I am violating in trying to do this? It seems trivial to allow both Commands and Checkability in addition to having children, so I can only imagine that there is a good reason for not allowing it that I am missing.
    Monday, May 13, 2019 4:24 PM

Answers