none
Problems creating the ExpenseIt tutorial

Question

• I'm new to both Visual Studio 2019 and C# language.  When following the ExpenseIt getting started tutorial Step 1. Create a new WPE Application does not create the App.xaml (c#) file ask to be selected in Step 2.  What I see is MainWindow.xaml and MainWindow.xaml.cs but I don't see the App.xaml. To new to say any thing but help.  Searched in forum for ExpenseIt, but found no listings about what I'm seeing.  Thanks, Doug

Friday, May 17, 2019 4:11 PM

Answers

• Hi   Doug.Kennedy,

You may refer the following toturial to create a WPF Application.

Walkthrough: My first WPF desktop application

I also tried on my side( Vsiaul Studio 2019, C#). When I create a new WPE Application it also create the App.xaml (c#) file. 

>>Which is puzzling as that is what step 2 is indicating should happen.

App.xaml is the declarative starting point of your application. Visual Studio will automatically create it for you when you start a new WPF application. This class extends the Application class, allowing us to do stuff on the application level. 

The App.Xaml defines any application resources. You also use this file to specify the UI, in this case MainWindow.xaml, that automatically shows when the application starts.

StartupUri="MainWindow.xaml"

You can refer the WPF-Samples :  Which contains the samples that demonstrate the API usage patterns and popular features for the Windows Presentation Foundation in the .NET Framework for Desktop.

Best Regards

Yong Lu

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by Doug.Kennedy Monday, May 20, 2019 8:39 PM
    Monday, May 20, 2019 5:48 AM

All replies