none
Administrating the MS VC+ Redistributable Installations RRS feed

• Question

• I am not a programmer.

I'm only administrating machines in some small LAN.

None of those machines have any MS development environment installed on it.

Several versions MS Visual C++ Redistributable Package only present on those machines.

Currently I am not able to say which of 3rd party applications had installed them

- analysis in progress.

There are many blogs, discussions and descriptions on the web how to do the deployment

of needed binaries but as good as none how to administrate the present installations.

If it is not the proper community to ask this question, maybe you can tell me

which forum would be better for asking that.

In the moment the Control Panel -> Add Remove Programs indicates several items

of MS Visual C++ Redistr. Some items for the 2005 version, and some items of the 2008 version.

Actually, why must it be so complicated?

The question is:

Which version number must have the installed MS Visual C++ 2008 Redistrib.

to have the latest official 2008 release?

Which version number must have the installed MS Visual C++ 2005 Redistrib.

in order to have latest official 2005 release?

Does it mean for each of these two (2005, 2008) I need to have installed the latest full

installation and additionally some number of updates?

Is it possible to have a list of full installers and/or updates forming together the latest available release?

Why 2 versions must be installed, 2005 and 2008?

I guess the 3rd party applications had lead to this state. Some of them installed

the former, other had installed the latter one. Without checking if any already present on the system.

If I now do the uninstallation of all Redistrib. and then manually install the latest available

2008 version - how good is the chance all 3rd party apps will work?

It means, is 2008 Redistrib. backwards compatible?

Or should I better remove all of them and apply the 2010 Redistrib.?