none
VSTO setting up successfully? RRS feed

• Question

• Please forgive my simplistic question as I'm a newbie to VSTO (although I've being using feature like VSTO with VB6 for quite a while...)

I'm using VS2005, .NET Framework 2.0 and programming in visual basic. My question is how can I know if my VS2005 is properly set up for use with VSTO?

I ask this question becasue I'm been reading Eric Carter/Eric Lippert's book on VSTO using VB2005 lately but can't repeat what he taught in the text.  (precisely when I type, for example, workbook=Me.application.workbooks.open(path) there was an error reported by VS2005..

Thanks a lot for your help.

Tony

Sunday, October 5, 2008 3:37 AM

Answers

• Hi Tony

In order to use the Visual Studio Tools for Office they must be part of your Visual Studio product. If you have VS 2005 Team Suite they are part of the product. Otherwise, you had to have bought the separate VSTO product package.

In Visual Studio 2008 they are part of the Professional and higher editions.

VSTO also requires Office 2003 PROFESSIONAL (or higher), or the stand-alone Word and Excel product packages. Only these editions contain the necessary XML features VSTO plugs into.

You can tell whether VSTO is installed on your machine (no matter which edition of Visual Studio 2005 you may have) by trying to create a new Word document or Excel workbook project. If you don't find these templates under the Office folder (or, indeed, don't find the Office folder) then VSTO isn't installed.