none
sharepoint powershell online get-pnprecyclebinitems access denied RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all!

I need to get count of Sharepoint Online recycle bin. I'm a site collection administrator on site collection that I work.

I tried to run this script:

Import-Module Microsoft.Online.SharePoint.PowerShell
    $User = "nikita.murashkin@contoso.com"
    $PWord = ConvertTo-SecureString -String "MyPass" -AsPlainText -Force
    $Credential = New-Object -TypeName System.Management.Automation.PSCredential -ArgumentList $User, $PWord
    $SiteUrl = "https://contoso.sharepoint.com/sites/contoso"
    Connect-PnPOnline -Url $SiteUrl -Credentials $Credential
    $Web = Get-PnPWeb 
    $Web.Title
    (Get-PnPRecycleBinItem).count

And I get this error message:

Get-PnPRecycleBinItem : Access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))
    At line:1 char:2
    + (Get-PnPRecycleBinItem).count
    +  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : WriteError: (:) [Get-PnPRecycleBinItem], ServerUnauthorizedAccessException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : EXCEPTION,PnP.PowerShell.Commands.RecycleBin.GetRecycleBinItems

How to solve this problem?

Monday, July 12, 2021 10:43 AM

All replies

• You may need additional roles.  If you are the site Admin, there should not be a permissions issue, but perhaps it is the Directory you are in.  what happens when you run the command alone??

I found this quoted direct from MS

"This command will return all the items in the recycle bin for the SharePoint site you connected to with Connect-PnPOnline. You must connect as a Site Collection Owner or Administrator. The SharePoint Admin Role in the tenant alone will not work. If you are not a Site Collection Admin connect to the Tenant Admin URL with Connect-PnPOnline and use Get-PnPTenantRecycleBinItem."

BlankMonkey

• Proposed as answer by Scuba_Duba Thursday, March 3, 2022 8:35 PM
    Thursday, February 17, 2022 8:52 PM